Archive for the ‘Buddhism’ Category

37 Factors of Enlightenment

Posted by Shivaboddha on April 18, 2011

37 Factors of Enlightenment

Four Foundations of Mindfulness (satipatthana)
1. kaya  the physical body
2. vedana  initial reactions to sensory input
3. citta  mind states; moods
4. dharmas 5 specific teachings

Four Right Efforts (sammappadhana)
5. To make an arisen, unwholesome state of mind cease
6. To make an unarisen, unwholesome state of mind not arise
7. To make an unarisen, wholesome state of mind arise
8. To make an arisen, wholesome state of mind continue

Four Bases of Power (iddhipada)
9. Desire or purpose or zeal (chanda)
10. Energy or will (viriya)
11. Mind or consciousness or thoughts (citta)
12. Investigation or discrimination (vīmaṃsā)

Five Faculties (pañc’ indriyāni)
13. Faith (saddhindariiya) is faith in the Buddha’s awakening.
14. Energy (viriyindariiya) refers to exertion towards the Four Right Efforts.
15. Mindfulness (satindariiya) refers to focusing on the 21 satipatthana.
16. Concentration (samadhindariiya) refers to achieving the first jhana.
17. Wisdom (paññindariiya) refers to discerning the Four Noble Truths.

Five Strengths (bala)
18. Faith (saddhabala) – controls doubt
19. Energy/Effort/Persistence (viriyabala) – controls laziness
20. Mindfulness (satibala); – controls heedlessness
21. Concentration (samādhibala) – controls distraction
22. Wisdom/Discernment (paññabala) – controls ignorance

Seven Factors of Enlightenment (bojjhanga)
23. Mindfulness (sati) i.e. to be aware and mindful in all activities and movements both physical and mental
24. Investigation (dhamma vicaya) into the nature of dhamma
25. Energy (viriya)
26. Joy or rapture (pīti)
27. Tranquility (passaddhi) of both body and mind
28. Concentration (samādhi) a calm, one-pointed state of concentration of mind
29. Equanimity (upekkha), to be able to face life in all its vicissitudes with calm of mind and tranquility without disturbance of like and dislike

Eight Fold Path (Ariya Aṭṭhangika Magga)
30. Right understanding (samma ditthi)
31. Right thinking (samma sankappa)
32. Right speech (samma vaca)
33. Right action (samma kammanta)
34. Right livelihood (samma ajiva)
35. Right effort (samma vayama)
36. Right mindfulness (samma sati)
37. Right collectedness (samma samadhi)


Posted in Buddhism | Leave a Comment »